Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does any have a good, go-to pest identification guide? I have my training materials for when I studied for my structural/health-related pest control license, but it really only covers the major pest species, and features black-and-white photos. We are normally referred to the Cooperative Extension Service for tricky IDs, but I'd like to have something handy to browse at home as well.

I was hoping for a comprehensive field guide-type manual, which tells you precisely how to identify something based on anatomical details under a microscope. My company provided the microscope, but not a guide...

When I did field research for a university, we had an arsenal of such field guides for plants. But I can't seem to find such a thing for pest professionals.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, the dichotomous keys I have only get you to the taxonomic Order. That there looks like the guide I need. I'm currently trying to identify an inconspicuous beetle proliferating in a meat department. I was hoping a microscope and a good guide would tease it out for me.

·
Registered
271 Posts
Maybe a larder beetle. Just a guess. With beetles as stored product pests I have not found that you really need to know which you are dealing with. Sure, there are weevils and a few other species that are easily identifiable that are pretty specific on food source and knowing those can help a little sometimes. Mostly it gives you confidence about whether or not you need to keep looking. If you find weevils in the dry peas you're pretty well done.