Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a contractor for a cable company and I need to pruchase a cordless drill that can go through brick/cement and switch back to normal. I had a dewalt the company supplied and it worked great till I droped it. Im looking at the Bosch drills and Im not sure what I need, Drill/Driver Hammer Drill/Driver or if Bosch even makes a drill that can do both.... (I dont know drill terminololgy) Please help thanks

·
Deck Designer/Builder
2,430 Posts
Hitachi 18V Impact Driver - I swear by mine for everything.

·
The Deck Guy
3,126 Posts
You need an 18V Hammer Drill. For a great price, try http://bosch.cpotools.com/cordless/cordless_hammer_drills_and_rotary_hammers/13618.html

I'm a Bosch guy and swear by them. They are tough, nearly unbreakable, and work well. There is no doubt, this thread will become a pissing match of Ford vs. Chevy very quickly because everyone is partial to "their" system.

All I know is that Bosch let's anyone try to break their drills by dropping them onto concrete from 10 feet up at every trade show they visit. I saw a 14.4 drill drop 86 times before it broke (they have a digital counter at the drop zone).

You definitely DON'T want an impact driver. They are not designed for drilling but are perfect for fastening. It's not a replacement for a drill.

·
Registered
262 Posts
oh the irony