Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has any contractor out there heard of this rebate before? Is it legit? Is it a Scam?
You can view the specifics at: www.nationalenergyrebatefund.com

I am a hvac contractor and have never heard of this company...
My neighbor just got an estimate for a deck to be done for $17,860 and suppositly qualifies for 15,000 in rebates from this fund to be issued in three $5,000 voulchers that take up to four yrs to get the money from the fund...
Something sounds fishy.. Is there anyone that has any good dealings with this fund...
Seems like they have only been around for 2yrs and possibly have never paid out a dime...
Give me some input to the validity of the claims or help me with some real world stories to help me save my neighbor from getting scammed..
Thanks
J

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
The first thing that makes me suspicious is the web address. .com instead of .gov
Other than that it all sounds ludicrous. The gov't is going to pay for my deck?
Back to the old saw: If it sounds too good to be true it probably is.
How do otherwise sensible people keep falling for this stuff?

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
This could actually be a legitimate company. This is based on a business model that pools funds and makes you wait for a certain amount of years before you get your rebate, you usually have to jump through hoops either once a year, once every month, or whatever they decide to keep your rebate claim active, if you mess up or forget to do something you lose the rebate for good.