Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I just joined because I read some of the questions and replies and appreciated the accuracy and honesty of the comments.

I have been a wallpaper contractor for over 27 years - so I know something about the "solid foundation" of paint because I have to stick to it and rely on the paint remaining attached to the wall.

For the first time I hired someone to paint my own home's exterior. They did a great job- lots of prep etc., except for my two stairs and upper patio. These areas are magnesite and I had painted them with "Desert Brand" -alcohol based I think. It dried quickly to a hard finish.

I dont' think the new painter sanded the stairs/patio but did see them wash it off. I know there was no primer used before the one coat of Muralo Quick Tread. The can says "latex epoxy."

I live at the ocean, so it has been humid, but it has been one week- and still slightly tacky, so I've still got patio furnature in my living room.

Today I hosed off the back stairs and dried with a towel- guess what- the paint comes off. This is a big mess for me and an expensive mistake for the contractor.

The painter is comming in a couple of days to see what is going on. He says he did not add anything to the paint.

Any ideas? If I can wipe it off when I put water on it, is painting over it out of the question? I'm thinking it needs to be removed and redone completely- I'm not happy :cry:.

Looking forward to your comments for my paint issue and I'll answer any questions about wallpaper in So California!

Thanks,
Mark Savage

·
Registered
106 Posts
Latex Epoxy on magnesite?

Wouldn't be my 1st choice.
After it wouldn't dry and harden in the 3rd day, he should've been out there.

Magnesite is very tricky from what I've seen. Plus the fact that I live in Michigan, and your on the water in Cali.