Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm a high-end residential builder in the state of Idaho. We have done a couple small commercial jobs in the past, but with the slow down, would like the ability to start bidding on more commercial work. I feel like I'm spinning my wheels though.

First off the bonding is nearly impossible to get. We are able to find bonds for up to $250K with no problem, but being a GC, this is a very small amount. Most of the jobs we have been asked to bid on are in the $1-2 million range.

Second, everyone is looking for highly experienced commercial contractors. It's kind of a catch 22, not being able gain experience because no one wants an inexperienced contractor. I had original considered hiring an experienced superintendent, but with how slow things are I really don't dare right now.

Any great suggestions?

·
Registered
388 Posts
How about looking for ARRA projects? There is a lot of federal money being pumped towards subsidized housing projects. A lot of these are remodels and renovations that may bid under your bonding capabilities. The margins probably won't be great but you will get your feet wet and you'll find subs that can work with you and your team.

You could also try to partner with local GCs that are bigger than you are.

May want to shop around your bonding needs - chances are you may be bondable higher than $250K.

Good luck.

BTW, here is a link to a list of Public Housing Authority Websites Its a legit site, but you may get a security warning about site's security certificate. No problems with it for me.

·
Project Superintendent
2,525 Posts