Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A family members home had a partial burn (first 3 rooms of the house) she asked me to be general contractor on the job (my specific field is hvac/mechanical contracting) so I am subbing the work out to other contractors. This is my first time dealing with an insurance & mortgage company however..
I made a contract with the family member, insurance company sent check to mortgage company who released 20% of the funds. They instructed me to notify them when 50% of those funds had been used up. I did that today.
They however asked for an itemized price list of everything that still needs to be completed in the home and how much more money I believe it would take to complete the home...
Is that standard procedure?
Are they trying to re-negotiate the contract price?
Can anyone give advice about how to handle them and anything I should be aware of when dealing with them?

Thank you all so much..I greatly appreciate any advice.

·
Registered
477 Posts
First, I would call the Insurance company and see if it is normal policy for them to send a check directly to the mortgage company. I have seen it before, but only when the policy stated it or if the homeowner requested it. Last insurance job I did, the check was written to the homeowner and he had to distribute funds.

Mortgage company should have no say in the contract price, that is between you and the homeowner (and to an extent the insurance company since they are the ones paying to "make it right"). Mortgage people are acting as the middle man, which is really weird to me.

·
Registered
1,214 Posts