Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a plumber and im planning on collecting customer emails from now on...im planning on sending out monthly e-fliers with a tip of the month and also a product of the month(w/ a coupon for it)

I have a cabinet friend who does w/ good results...and id think a plumber would do even better

any of the tradesman do it?

anyone w/ constant contact.com experience? for $15 a month it allows you do track how many open their emails and also have multiple pages to your email...kinda like a mini website....im thinking for $180 a year its more than worth it

·
Registered
529 Posts
Do you really want to spend your time writing an email newsletter every month? I say this and I own a busy autoresponder company with a few thousand customers. We started it in 2004.

Unless you are very active with your mailing list it will be a fruitless effort. One newsletter a month wouldn't fall into that category unless it's memorable and packed with a ton of value.

You might be better off building up and engaging your followers on Facebook or Google+ where they are probably more likely to read the information.

Email "open" tracking (our system does it) relies on a tiny/invisible image pixel to be displayed in the clients email. If they don't allow the tracking pixel you won't get accurate open data. If they don't click a link, no data. If it's a plain text email, no data, so while it's a cool feature it doesn't work 100% for any provider.

Constant Contact, Aweber, GetResponse and MailChimp are all great choices for automated email followups if you want an outside service.

There are also a few Wordpress autoresponder plugins available now too that can manage small mailing lists right through your WP install which can be great for small scale lists like a contractors.

·
Registered
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·