Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys doing a real small job and want to see if it is possible to do this my self. I am a licensed general contractor in California.
Have a client with a granny house studio. 560 sq. ft tiny, right now they have a direct vent wall mount unit that has problems, the pilot light keeps blowing out.
They say they want to remove that and put in forced heating and air. From what I have read even the smallest unit would be too large for this space. True?
I think a 18,000 BTU Mitsubishi mini split with heat and air would be the way to go. I have watched some install videos on this but still not sure.

Can I Install this with basic tools? or are there welding and specialized tools needed. If not pulling a permit can I even buy one in CA?

Thanks guys, not trying to take from your trade, it just looks too simple in the videos.

·
Registered
74 Posts
You may as well, apparently in the videos the mention of pulling a vacuum & weighing in or out the corresponding amount of refrigerant is not important enough and does involve a considerable investment in equipment & training to do this. This will work to the detriment of that industry niche.

We are getting an increasing number of calls from HO & GC who think there is nothing to this. We will not work on any system unless we are convinced that a proper vacuum was pulled on the lineset to begin with, the actual charge weight can be later verified when operational problems arise. By then, the effects of air in the system have done the damage that will very expensive to undo.

Improper evacuation of the lineset introduces air to the system, the problems resulting from that gets very complicated & expensive forever after.