Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Remodeler
824 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just went on an estimate for a Insurance Co. (their office), in a commercial building. I am not experienced with metal framing and need some help here. I understand the walls are all temporary in this building. Metal studs up to the drop ceiling and tied in some way above the ceiling. I'm confident I can figure out the top. But how do I secure the bottom sill to the floor without making it permanent? Also I am lost with the estimating. I have a couple feelers out for the door but have no idea how to price this. How to fasten the door frame to the studs and the sill plat to the floor. I am not so concerned with the pricing I think I can figure that part out. I just want to be sure I have some idea of what I'm doing and like the idea of getting my feet wet in commercial work.
Thanks as always.

·
Finish Carpentry
396 Posts
OK I'm going to do this step by step

In commercial work the plates are called track (top track,bottom track)

1. If the ceiling tiles are flat you can screw the track right to the ceiling tee's.

2. If the ceiling tiles are kerfed (protruding past the ceiling grid) you can place a nailer above the grid, like another track, rip of plywood or a 2x4 and screw through the ceiling tee's into the nailer.

3. For the bottom track you can fasten it down with a powder acuated nail gun stagering the pins every other stud, if you don't have one of those or don't want to rent one you can use a hammer drill with a 3/16 bit, 16d duplex nails and wire like they use to tie rebar. Drill down 1-1/2" to 2", insert the wire until it hits bottom bend it flat, nail the 16d duplex until it hits bottom and bend flat also.
Both will be secure enough so you won't have to worry but will be easy to remove when the time comes with a hammer and a flat bar.