Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 132 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi group, I'm an electrician, hiring a tile contractor, have a question on using a membrane vs red gard vs ardex 8-9.

1. Tub surround has waterproof paper on the studs, and wonderboard. I was going to redgard, then a membrane sheet, but a little worried about my buddy who did the wonderboard because the corner seams are a bit rough not too straight. Should I have the tile guy fix that after the membrane or before.
2. Cracks on the cement in the vanity, would you use a membrane sheet or ardex 8-9 or is redgard sufficient.
3. Kitchen was leveled with no cracks on the surface, not sure if I should add a membrane, ardex 8-9, or redgard. Thanks in advance for your time and help. Dave

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
Hi group, I'm an electrician, hiring a tile contractor, have a question on using a membrane vs red gard vs ardex 8-9.

1. Tub surround has waterproof paper on the studs, and wonderboard. I was going to redgard, then a membrane sheet, but a little worried about my buddy who did the wonderboard because the corner seams are a bit rough not too straight. Should I have the tile guy fix that after the membrane or before.
2. Cracks on the cement in the vanity, would you use a membrane sheet or ardex 8-9 or is redgard sufficient.
3. Kitchen was leveled with no cracks on the surface, not sure if I should add a membrane, ardex 8-9, or redgard. Thanks in advance for your time and help. Dave
What's waterproof paper?

If he put plastic on the face of the studs then wonderboard I wouldn't put another layer of waterproofing.

Need more details to answer the other questions...

·
Registered
3,083 Posts
Fix the walls now, Call the tile guy over let him take a look, He may be the guy to fix the walls. Then ask him about water proofing. Red guard and hydroban are membranes.

·
Registered