Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm watching way too much discovery channel. I just learned that some scientists speculate that a massive landslide of the southwestern quadrant of a volcanic island in the Canary chain (La Palma) will generate a tsunami wave that will destroy the east cost of the U.S. from Miami to Boston. This kind of tsunami, generated by massive landslide as opposed to an underwater earthquake, is known to generate wave heights in excess of 400 meters. :eek:

·
Registered
318 Posts
tsunami

Destroy Boston? Awwww geeeee.... ;) (former Boston resident.....)

As long as a certain Nam vet I greatly respect gets out first (no, not John Kerry)....

Tim

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Duuude! That would be one awsome curl.
I heard about the landslide theory years ago, it could go tomorrow or a thousand years from now. I'm thinking that I'm pretty safe as the Bahamas would knock most of the starch out of it before it got here.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Teetorbilt said:
Duuude! That would be one awsome curl.
I heard about the landslide theory years ago, it could go tomorrow or a thousand years from now. I'm thinking that I'm pretty safe as the Bahamas would knock most of the starch out of it before it got here.
La Palma: lat 28.6N Jensen Beach lat 27.3N Bahamas lat 24.2 N

"The energy released by the collapse would be equal to the electricity consumption of the entire United States in half a year. Immediately after the landslide, a dome of water 900 meters (3,000 feet high) and tens of miles wide would form, only to collapse and rebound. As the landslide rubble moved deeper under water, a tsunami would develop. Within 10 minutes, the tsunami would have moved a distance of almost 155 miles. Florida and the Caribbean, would have to brace themselves for 165 foot waves some eight to nine hours after the landslide."