Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
wannabe
2,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I oversee a bunch of properties in a vacation community. This is my first year in this position and I've been doing good, but I'm getting into a crunch with memorial day coming quickly.

I have a lot of people relying on me to keep their schedules and I'm also relying on others to keep everything moving along smoothly. Painters, plumbers, cleaners, landscapers etc...

I've known this spring would be stressful since everyone is busy and we're all trying to get our work done before the summer season. I've really put an effort into planning ahead by putting in lists to subs a month ago trying to be proactive, but HOers wait until the last minute with requests, and notices about their arrival dates. I hate having to keep calling subs to move me up on their schedule. Dealing with staff is easy enough but getting subs to commit "to the day" is a different beast.

I'm the middle man trying to coordinate and keep everyone happy. It's not my nature to think I'm the most important person in the world or that my schedule warrants others to drop what they're doing for me. So the learning curve begins....

I know the majority of the members here live this everyday and to be truthful, I love it! Some words of wisdom would be appreciated!

·
Registered
2,768 Posts
I oversee a bunch of properties in a vacation community. This is my first year in this position and I've been doing good, but I'm getting into a crunch with memorial day coming quickly.

I have a lot of people relying on me to keep their schedules and I'm also relying on others to keep everything moving along smoothly. Painters, plumbers, cleaners, landscapers etc...