Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
403 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
My method of maintaining motivation and enthusiasm over the long haul has been three things

1. reinvent the focus of my contracting pursuits several times to something new and exciting

2. taking large blocks of time off to pursue other entrepreneurial interests

3. having other sources of income so I do not have the pressure of making a paycheck

Background

I have been a very entrepreneurial business owner for over 32 years. All of that time contracting was a large or small part of it depending on what blew my hair back at the time.

NY does not license contractors on the state wide level. A few but not many jurisdictions license electricians, plumbers or both but they are few and far between. This has given me the freedom to offer and pursue whatever projects I wanted to understanding many other states are different.

The trades were learned by working on my own rental properties, house flips and light commercial properties. My family is very entrepreneurial so I was taught how to make money in a wide variety of LEGAL ways.

My local towns are all very rural where all contractors are multi-trade GC types because you had to be to survive. I now serve a wide area with numerous major metro areas where single trade contractors are common.

For many years when I was a small town GC, I had never met a single trade contractor. We all did it all. I know that pisses some members off here but that is how it is where I am from. I do not understand the hostility about multi-trade contractors so I just ignore it.

Our winter weather SUUUUUUCKS in NY. It is a huge factor at least for us.

Exterior remodeling period - My first several years I focused on exterior remodeling including siding roofing gutters decks window replacements