Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I'm A tile contractor possibly over my head with a siding project.

I started with an 800 ft addition. On the new portion of the house i used lp tech shield sheathing (.5" osb with a foil face that perforated with holes to allow vapor to escape.) LPs directions required a 3/4" airspace inbetween the foil and any other material. So, on the side where the old house met the new house, in one flat plane, I removed the old windows, furred them out, and the windows on the new addition were furred out as well. Then I placed furring strips over the old sheathing and new sheathing (after taping all the seams whith a foil tape, to block airflow). Figuring that since I was creating a vented airspace in between the sheathing and moisture barrier, I'd use 6 mil polly, since Ive heard bad things about the longevity of tyvek, felt would be a pain over furring strips, Poly seemed to be the ticket.

So I put up my poly and away I went. It was cool all day, so the poly stayed nice and tight. I did the old portion first to about the middle of the 35 ft wall, stopping at the trim around the door and to the top of the door where the next row would cross the top of the door. so 7' x17' (Most of the day was spent on removing reinstalling old windows, furring, flashing and trim.) I also put the poly on the other side of the door as well, completing the poly instalation to about 8 ft high for that entire side. I quit for the day. Then next day I came home from things I do know how to do (Tile) and the Poly was very loose. It was hot, and so it was touching the sheating in between the furring strips. :sad: Then it cooled down at night and the following morning it was nice and tight again. This time of year its around 70-80 deg f in the daytime, and 25 ish at night.