Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am 22 and new here. Looking to start a painting business. Just wondering whats the best way to get jobs and get started?

I dont know alot about painting, just basics. I dont know how to estimate a project or know how many coats a room will take, etc....

I posted an ad on craigslist to find a partner to paint with. I told them I am not an expert but have money for advertising and would like to partner with an experienced painter.

To my suprise, I had about 20 responses.

What should I do here?

Should I advertise and find jobs, and send my "new" experienced painter partner to estimate it and do the jobs with him?

All answers welcome.

P.S. I know that quality is the most important thing. Pleasing the customer is a must.

·
...jammin
5,234 Posts
You won't like it but...

Apprentice yourself to a quality painting company for a few years
Seriously...that's the best possible thing you could do right now
...On so many levels
I'm not kidding or "being a jerk" or whatever
I'm just telling it like it is

·
Particulate Filter
4,430 Posts
Of course you got twenty responses.

Here's what you said "I don't know what to do with this money in my pocket could you tell me how to spend it?" 20 people have great ideas on how to best spend your money.

Partnerships are almost always a colossal failure. The most important reason is because a business, and really any enterprise that involves lots of people, needs one leader who makes the calls.

A short to do list for starting a painting company -