Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys this is my first post on this site so please take it easy on me. I am a hvac tech and installer. Thinking of going out on my own and start my own business. The problem is that I live in a rural area and from what I have seen is that it's hard to make it on heating work alone. With that being said I am thinking of also getting in the electrical business also.
In hvac I do all my own electrical work. Running my own power to the units, adding sub panels, ect.
So after that whole long post here is my real question. Do you guys think that someone like myself and cross over and be able to do both hvac and electrical work?

·
Registered
Butcher of wood and metal
7,007 Posts
well what are you going to do about being licensed? Or don't you have to be in your state? As much as I know a fair amount about electrical I am not doing it on a customers house.

·
Capra Aegagrus
Remodeler
25,225 Posts
Do you guys think that someone like myself and cross over and be able to do both hvac and electrical work?
How can we say, without actually knowing you? Of course it's possible. Many of the members here are multi-discipline and do quite well at it. But no one can tell whether you personally have the drive and ability to do so.

·
Registered
8,133 Posts
I see lots of "mechanical" contractors. But they usually do the HVAC and plumbing, don't know if the tools and equipment cross over better or what, but that's how I would lean if I were you. I do know one electrician/plumber, has both licenses, so why not HVAC.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
From what I can tell there is no state license needed. It's left up the towns. I am thinking of taking a electrical classes at a local school. I am not looking at getting into huge commercial work. Just looking to work residental.

·
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
1,645 Posts