Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am sorry if anyone finds not PC, but we have great male workers already and looking to add a female worker to our team. I know it's such a rare find, but being a female general contractor I would appreciate some company, but mainly it is for business improvement.
If anyone knows a woman in this profession who is looking please have her respond.
:thumbup:

·
Registered
1,712 Posts
It's a lot more PC than the abbreviated title 'looking for a female...' suggested.

Good for you. I've been thinking a female roofing salesperson would be great too.

·
Registered
2,940 Posts
Being PC or not has nothing to do with it. In many situations, basing hiring solely on gender is illegal. There have been companies who have gotten into trouble for ads such as yours. A better phraseology could have been:

Sales position open, bbla bla bla, females and minorities strongly urged to apply.

I'm in kind of a hurry, by a google search will result in a number od suggested ads

·
Registered
4,858 Posts
Being PC or not has nothing to do with it. In many situations, basing hiring solely on gender is illegal.
sort of like "Black person wanted for...."
That opens the can of worms when one isn't the race/gender that they are looking for.
Like...."non-black person wanted for..." or "non-female wanted for..." etc.

Either everyone's equally protected or no one is....

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
But we all know it's not like that.........
When you are looking in a construction field saying you want a woman to work for you is not the same as saying you only want men working for you.... but i guess previous posters don't get it......

·
Registered
2,940 Posts