Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always wanted to work in Canada since i was young, now i am 30 and have been building Log Cabins over here in the UK for over 10 years now. Just wondered what sort of feedback i would get from anyone with some ideas of how to go about it.

I was a project manager for a log cabin company for 4 years working on some big projects. I understand the log systems very well, aswell as the foundations and fit outs.

Any ideas would be very appreciated.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Maslen,

It is not uncommon for companies to sponsor oversea's workers to come over here to work for a spell. I have worked with Carpenters from England and Australia. The employment climate has tightened up in Western Canada, but work is still around.

In my area we have a fair amount of log home building going on, but I'm afraid I do not know much about it. No local companies do this as a mainstay. I would look in the Canadian yellow pages (phone directory) for companies and ask if they would be interested in hiring you. They would first need to demonstrate by advertising for a Canadian with a similar skill set to fill your position, if you have 10 years experiance doing this I think they could make a pretty good case about hiring you. Your management experiance might help get a job, but I'd imagine you would not be running any jobs just coming into a company for a year, but you never know.

PM me if you have any questions regarding areas that are desirable to live or other specific questions.

Matt

·
Just do it right
6 Posts
2 year visa

I've always wanted to work in Canada since i was young, now i am 30 and have been building Log Cabins over here in the UK for over 10 years now. Just wondered what sort of feedback i would get from anyone with some ideas of how to go about it.