Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
TRC
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just starting out in the home improvement business. I need to decide if i should elect to take w.c. insurance, as is my choice by being the owner. I will have a good health coverage plan, but is that enough? I would like the piece of mind of having the wc but it's so f'n expensive! NJ mandates that as a new company I will pay $11.76/$100 of payroll. I know i will have to pay for my employees but if I end up paying myself a decent salary it will end up killing me.

Any thoughts?

BTW: love this forum!

·
Registered
8,606 Posts
TRC, have you gotten a quote from an insurance company to insure you as the owner as well? Most companies that I've seen don't like to do this and some will jack up their rates if you do.

For my business, I do very little if any manual labor so I'm exempt. Its a tough call though.

·
TRC
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My quote as an owner is the same as anyone else except that i have to pay on a minimum salary of $29k, same rate: $11.76/$100 of payroll.

I do have full health coverage so i'm thinking i will sh*tcan the idea of covering myself on WC too. I'll end up paying so much in insurance overhead that i can't be competitive on pricing. I'm paying $1749 for the year on liability as well. This is a special program that doesn't change with salary but is fixed for 2employees. Otherwise it was going to cost over $3k. I know a lot of this is so expensive because I'm a new business. Man they really hit you pretty hard...especially in NJ.

U

·
0 Posts
Here in CA we have the same option. But I doubt anyone would include themselves in W/C. I would kill to pay the rates you do. Look at the cost you will have for a year and talk to your regular insurance provider to see how you can better cover yourself for loss of work in the case of an injury.