Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not a mason by trade but i know if i were laying brick on the first row i would be either short or long on the last brick of the row. Just wondering if it is measured on the first course and all eye for the following courses? thanks

·
Registered
Brickwork
1,113 Posts
When setting out the first course you may have to adjust the size of the head joints to make it work without a cut.
The following courses will usually follow at either half or quarter bond. Generally this is done by eye, with some masons being better than others at keeping the head joints plumb.
On really high class work pencil marks are made on the bricks with the use of the level to keep them plumb, as on long runs the head joints tend to move about a bit.

·
Vendor
6,347 Posts
I re-read it and understand what you are asking now. You want to know how to deal with the closer (the brick to close the course). If it can't be made be at least a 1/4 module, then it is better to cut two brick to close the course, and hide the off-set head joints in the center of the run. If it works on 1/4 or half module, then place it at the end of the run. And, as stated, if it can be made up with the joints alone, just do that.

·
Registered
Brickwork
1,113 Posts
In theory the Architect designs the building to work brick sizes. In practice it never seems to work out.
When setting out for a house, it's best to drive the bond from the smallest runs so you finish up in the longest run where it's easier to adjust the joints. Normally I would reduce the size, as small joints usually look better than big joints.
We also try and work out where the window and door frames are going so the bond can be adjusted if possible to avoid a 3/4 cut at the reveals.