Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I am new at the banister stair type and I am a bit baffled on how to level these things. I just recently bought a row home and the banister stairs (1 to 2nd floor) are out of level. interestingly enough, in the same area of the stairs in the basement, there is a metal column holding up the beam. I suspect that the house has settled and the metal column is doing the work to hold up the beam. My questions:

1. Is this common in these old row homes?
2. What is the standard procedure on jacking up the stairs
3. Is there another easier way to leveling the stairs :)

Thanks

·
Registered
3,494 Posts
Alright, I am new at the banister stair type and I am a bit baffled on how to level these things. I just recently bought a row home and the banister stairs (1 to 2nd floor) are out of level. interestingly enough, in the same area of the stairs in the basement, there is a metal column holding up the beam. I suspect that the house has settled and the metal column is doing the work to hold up the beam. My questions:

1. Is this common in these old row homes?
2. What is the standard procedure on jacking up the stairs
3. Is there another easier way to leveling the stairs :)

Thanks

Tear it out and start over. Seriously

·
Curmudgeon
11,706 Posts
an east coast or northeast term for a stair railing
Usually applies to aa wall hung rail as opposed to a ballustrade which would contain both a bannister and ballusters
Back here its the rail
and balusters on the open side.
Dincha ever get to slide down
the banister when you were
a kid? :clap::w00t:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I see we have some comedians and some knuckleheads in this forum :). At some point, one of you, or a friend will need some help doing electrical or structured wiring work.......

·
Curmudgeon
11,706 Posts