Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had that set, it's actually slower then just putting it on with a knife
Really? what problems did you experience with these that made them so slow?

Ive actually got fairly quick with finishing by hand but have the opportunity to bid on a couple hundred 12' standups and thought the flatbox would speed up that process.

·
Drywall Slave
9,441 Posts
I've heard there of low quality ...Can't say for sure.

I'm new with the boxes ..If I bought a new set they would be Drywall Master.. I have a d/m 7 box and it's built like a tank!

·
Registered
133 Posts
Boxing is way faster than putting it on by hand, however, there are some things to know before you get proficient with them. Mud consistency, blade adjustments, etc. I have never seen hand coating any where near as fast as box coating. An average 200 sheet house takes 1 guy a couple hours with a box. :thumbup:

·
plasterboard/drywall stop
12 Posts
Really? what problems did you experience with these that made them so slow?

Ive actually got fairly quick with finishing by hand but have the opportunity to bid on a couple hundred 12' standups and thought the flatbox would speed up that process.
As commercial finisher I know nothing beats boxes and I highly recommend TapeTech Power Assist - the best for standups (fast and easy to push)

·
Registered
110 Posts
The problem with the level 5 boxes is that the blade carrier is made of plastic instead of brass, like a quality box blade carrier. Personally I use a Columbia 8" boy flat box for first coat. The fat boy holds more mud for less trips to the pump. I use a 10" regular Columbia box for second coat. If I'm doing a smooth finish I'll run a 12" tape tech box for truly flat joint finishing. My Tape tech box is over ten years old and still running great. As tape tech is mostly Chinese junk now days I'll stick with Columbia tools.

·