Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been thinking about buying a rental property for several years. I'm no expert but it seems to me the key to building wealth is real estate. Lots of folks with money have properties. The rental market around here is really strong because there are 3 major colleges in the area. UofI, WSU, and LCSC.

What I'd like to do is buy nice properties. However that takes a lot more cash than I have at this point.

What I'm thinking is do the rental property thing like I did my landscape biz. Start small.

I've found this house in Lewiston. Decent neighborhood, property values are climbing. This house is in pretty poor condition for that neighborhood.

http://www.cargillrealty.com/index.php?action=listingview&listingID=12382

It's $35,000. I'm thinking of making an offer of $28,000. It needs a total redo.

Talking with a few property management companies (I plan on using one) I should be able to get $1,000 to $1,300 a month for this house after it's renovated.

Here's the blurb that covers the condition of the house.

2 BED 1 BATH FIXER-UPPER WITH NO FOUNDATION, LARGE KITCHEN WITH GOOD CABINETS, NEWER ROOF, LOTS OF FRUIT TREES,NEWER GAS FURNACE, H2O LINE BUSTED IN BACK PORCH THIS WINTER CAUSING SOME MOLD,MILDEW AND DAMAGE IN BACK OF HOME.
The lot is big enough that we could add a bedroom and a bath. Turning this into a 3 bed 2 bath home.

I talked to a GC I know and trust. He figured the cost of renovation and addition at roughly $52,000. We could add a detached garage for an addtional $21,000.

I have some cash, but the majority of this would be financed through a home equity line of credit on the house I currently live in.

The landscaping is pretty bad. I'd want to fence it in, add a sprinkler system, treat the lawn, etc. Figure another $9K for that.