Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
378 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi been lurking for a few weeks im a remodeling contractor in nj ny area. iwanted to get input on recent event. gave customer rough est on large remodeling project 100k+ we are still months from closing deal. to the point customer wants to visit current job site/s and wants references names and addresses of like our last 50 jobs .customer also seems to think he going handle key parts of job ie. supply subs materials. im leaning torwards walking . we normally give 1 to3 ref if cust is ready to sign .

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
If you have other work, this guy send up gigantic red flags for me. I personally don't have the temperament to deal with micro-managers. Maybe you've figured out a way to deal with such folks? They generally tend to slow everything and everybody way down.

·
Registered
56 Posts
just my opinion but looks like to me this new customer is going to be a pain in the @ss
going to make the job a living hell

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
I invite customers to visit my job sites but I ask them not to get in the way of the workers or ask questions or bother the home owners. They can park and watch all day for all I care.

As far as supplying materials etc... That's an instant red flag for me. Do they really think they can get it cheaper? If their reason is so we don't bring in seconds or something, I understand however there are better ways around that.

On the other hand this might be a great opportunity for yout o make some great profit. Probably nobody else will want him either. Jack up that rough estimate through the roof, enough to pay for the headaches... and make sure there is plenty of slack in the schedule.

·
Registered
378 Posts
Discussion Starter #5