Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
When i was 19 a large job fell on my lap. I took this job with little experiance and alot of determination. Often, i would walk around the jobsite at the end of the day in peace and quiet, and ponder---"HOW THE HELL AM I GOING TO GET THIS PLACE BACK TOGETHER". It was one of these afternoon walks that i realized i needed to break the job down in my mind, this was not a $400,000 dollar job---It was on 400 $1000 dollar jobs. At that moment much of the anxiety lifted. This lesson has served me throughout my life in countless ways. What are some of the things that this business has taught you. G

·
Finishing Carpenter
1,332 Posts
lessons learned! I am still learning :D

- never ever upon pain of death buy materials on my dime, get a check first from the HO (I got really lucky, the HO's husband gave me a check a few days later)

- no estimates over the phone

- have a minimum call out on # of hours, ie: fix a shelf in a condo - went out, did the work, then HO wanted to nickel and dime me. (thinkin to refuse those type of calls, no parking, pita door policy etc)

- make a big deal to HO about dust and noise!!!!

- Never again will I fix up other trades bad work!!!!! it can come back to bite you (someone poured a concrete floor, and pushed up underneath old baseboards, I had to grind the "lip" down to install new baseboards-nope, not doin that again)

- let HO's know that my compensation doe's not allow them to help me! the last thing I need is a HO to put an 18ga pin through their hand. (it actually doe's cover them, but I don't need the problems)

- pick up and delivery of materials is "ON" the clock!!!!

- some checks (not all) I got to the issueing bank and have it certified (guarenteed) cost's me $15 bucks, but it avoids problems later.

- Ask the customer for referrals! getting more business lately due to that.