Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Finish Carpenter
4,999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a finish carpenter and spend most of my time over in that forum, but I just put an addition on an out building of mine and I am running some UF to it so I have lights and what not, but it would also be nice to run power tools off it. I know 14 awg is rated for 15 amps, but my question is how long of run is it rated for that? Will I be able to run things like a miter saw or job site table saw off it or is that too much? It is going to be about a 150 foot run to the panel. Maybe I should be posting this over at the DIYchatroom.....

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
13,045 Posts
Voltage drop is dependent on the load, so the larger the load (in amps), the shorter the wire can be and still maintain a usable voltage.

If you're installing wire that length to run power tools, do yourself (and your tools) a huge huge huge favor and get something really big, like 6 or 4.

·
Registered
151 Posts
6 or 4 is what I would run if I was installing a subpanel, but with what he describes I think it would be fine to just install 10. 10 will more than cover lighting and occasional power tool usage. Only reason I would go bigger is if the was gonna be using multiple tools at once, like a dc of some sort and a tool.

If you do plan on running tools out there frequently then install a subpanel and run 240 out there so you can have the tools on seperate circuits if needed (lighting too, stinks when you pop a breaker and lights go out). It is all pretty easy to do and figure out the requirements if you know where to look.

·
Registered
166 Posts
ghost,
have you been on a job and used a 100' 16 guage extension cord and fired up the wormdrive and have it drag and then hit full speed? get a sup panel and run some #6 3 wire + ground aluminum direct burial cable. you will have plenty of power and 22o at the outbuilding.

·
Fentoozler