Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Motorboatin' son of a ...
1,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is the million dollar question and I've been on here for quite a while to answer questions, but this time I have a question to ask.

I'm a small contractor. I've been in construction for over 15 years working for others and now that the economy is so bad a lot of companies around here just don't have any work. Most of the companies I have done work for have long established relationships and can still get at least some work these days, but when just starting out is super tough.

The only jobs I can get are by word of mouth. I have no budget right now for advertising, so the only thing I can do is get my name out on the internet in all the free places I can, though it may not be very beneficial, and to get out there to look for jobs in progress to hit up various contractors.

I've been a carpenter for years. I've framed many houses, I've custom built cabinets and done finish work for countless homes. I can do the work, that is not the problem. The issue is getting the work. I know internet lead services are a joke, so I steer clear of them.

Do you guys have any tips on getting work, maybe ways of getting out there and finding contractors to at least give me a shot? Any tips that could help someone just starting out? How to get on GC's bid list, invitations to bid, etc.

·
1,104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Southern California.

Seems like things are so dead here that I'd be willing to go to another state just to start a business and make some money. A bunch of the GC's and contractors who do sub work that I know and have done work for in the past are all barely hanging on. Some of these guys have been around for 15-30 years as contractors. Even commercial work has slowed down.

·
Registered
3,005 Posts
Southern California.