Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am currently bidding on a very large project. We're talking in the $10-20M range for our part of the work. It's site prep including grading, paving, signage, landscape, concrete, etc. This project is quite a bit larger than we are used to bidding but we have assets to handle the job. What I'm looking for is advice on gross profit margin. How low should it go for a project of this size. I have always been told that the higher the over all contract value the lower the GPM. Normally we would figure all exact costs and go somewhere in the +20% range. That is for jobs of say $2M or less.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I'm not an estimating expert. Someone else does that. Just looking for opinions from the "Peanut Gallery" and a little discussion. I guess I should also add...I'm more on the sales and client relations side of things. I'm not actually writing this bid. What I am looking for is a better understanding of what this bid should look like. So I can speak more intelligently to the client and look at it more critically before I even present it to them.

·
Joseph A. Capece
1,811 Posts
The percentage is dependent upon how much overhead your company has, how much profit you want to make, and a percentage for contingency. Since none of us know this information, we won't really be able to help you.

·
Every now and then poster
13,436 Posts
Chit... half a mil is Oprah money to this country boy.

Bruno rubbed off on me. I'd under cut your azz just to under cut you:whistling:laughing::thumbup:
:laughing:

You underestimate me. Id be talking all sorts of chit about a million dollar markup and then come in at 470k with an all expense paid vacation for the prime gc...

·
Super Moderator
27,583 Posts
:laughing: