Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, whats this all about. Customer today during the course of some conversation shows me where she keeps a door mat on the middle of her floor between the kitchen and dining room because the installer of her manufacturer floating floor left was he called an expansion strip. The expansion strip consists of about 1/4 inch of exposed tongue on the flooring running there.

What is all this about? Apparently he told her he had to do it, it was required to install the floor correctly.

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
I'm no expert on laminate flooring, - - but I would guess his 'claim' is probably true, - - though it still leaves no excuse to leave an exposed tongue. No reason not to be able to at least install a 'transition' strip.

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
Laminate should have T mold wherever there is a door to another room.

I am not sure about the Tounge portion...

what's with that?

·
Registered
375 Posts
On hardwood flooring, every 20 feet we are supposed to leave an 1/8 inch expansion space. This is done by use flat washers on the whole length of the floor. Don't normally do this in a residential setting unless the floor is really really wide.

Laminate flooring really doesn't need a 1/4 inch expansion gap unless you are installing over a huge area. Besides, most laminate jobs are floating systems, thus expansion gaps are not necessary. Floating means that the whole floor is glued or clicked together as one massive panel which totally negates the need of gaps.

In a residential setting, 1/4 inch gap around the perimeter of the room between the flooring and the wall is all that is necessary.

Yup, this floor guy needs some educating.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts