Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I'm not a painter but I have painted. I'm a carpenter by trade. The painter on our job is using lacquer as finish on our cabinets,but it just keeps flaking off mostly in the inside corners. He wash coated the cabinets with sanding sealer(wood pride) regular oil based. I told him it was the sanding sealer making the lacquer flake. I don't know much but oil based under lacquer???? Any thoughts

·
Registered
Remodel
29,585 Posts
You can get decent adhesion to urethanes with lacquer, but that isn't a urethane from what I saw at the Glidden site. It says it's a gloss product using zinc stearate - zinc stearate can cause adhesion problems. To have any hope of good adhesion, all parts of the surface have to be roughed up.

I don't know about the specific sealer compatibility - the TDS says something about vinyl and solvent - I've never worked with vinyl as a sanding sealer.

If you do a tape test (Rub scotch tape down onto the finish, pull it back off - some people will use duct tape instead) on the flat part of the cabinet and the lacquer stays stuck, it may just be inadequate sanding in the corners.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok i put blue masking tape on the flat surface and the finish pealed off the hole thing. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get the finish to adhere.

·
Registered
797 Posts
True sanding sealers must be matched to the top coat. Lacquer based sanding sealers contain stearates which inhibit adhesion of oil and waterbourne finishes. Lacquer based sanding sealers should only be used under lacquer finishes. If I can remember right, we a used Sherman Williams brand a few years back when I worked in a cabinet shop. The results were beautiful and never any flaking. See what exactly your painter used. Sounds very much like a re-do job on his part I'm sorry to say.

·
Registered