Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am a General Contractor in California. I have a remodeling project with a investor and I am working with him at a very low margin because the is customer has few more potential leads.

I want to control material prices better and not pay any mark up so I can keep my margin on the job. I have a contractor who is willing to take labor only contract at very reasonable hourly rates. I want to see if I can hire him as a contractor and not employee.

What are the legal and right way to so this. Does he need insurance or can I cover him under my insurance? Does he need to be licensed? Do I need to give him 1099 for this job?

·
GC/carpenter
GC/Carpenter
41,076 Posts
mitulkp said:
Hello I am a General Contractor in California. I have a remodeling project with a investor and I am working with him at a very low margin because the is customer has few more potential leads. I want to control material prices better and not pay any mark up so I can keep my margin on the job. I have a contractor who is willing to take labor only contract at very reasonable hourly rates. I want to see if I can hire him as a contractor and not employee. What are the legal and right way to so this. Does he need insurance or can I cover him under my insurance? Does he need to be licensed? Do I need to give him 1099 for this job?
In the state of a Cali, all trades that get 1099's must be duly licensed for the trade that they perform. There is no general liability requirement by the state to be a contractor. If he has employees, he has to carry WC. Most general liability insurance policies will require you to have him include you as an additionally insured. I don't think they will insure a sub unless you are paying for it. This is something a phone call to your broker will clear up.

·
Goin' Down in Flames....
Highwayman
5,047 Posts