Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
any pricing guidelines for hiring help by the job or piece. i am a residential contractor trying to compete and having a hard time paying by the hour.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
You're talking subs?
Employees want just that, to be employed. Show up at 7 and leave at 4, no more, no less without incentive. Benefits will usually drive these guys. I posted some of my techniques and if you pore over some of the old posts you may discover them.
This may help and it doesn't cost much. I no longer have employees, I have an extended family.

·
Banned
3,292 Posts
Word of warning by the piece. If the crews you hire are not contractors. You still have to pay worker comp. Record hours worked. If the piece price doesn't cover minium wage you will have to pay the difference to your employees. That being said you know how to speak spanish. Also hire pick up carpenter's and pay them good because they will be picking up alot of garbage and a low wage isn't going to cut it.. LOL

have fun hacking

·
Banned
3,292 Posts
Teetorbilt said:
You're talking subs?
Employees want just that, to be employed. Show up at 7 and leave at 4, no more, no less without incentive. Benefits will usually drive these guys. I posted some of my techniques and if you pore over some of the old posts you may discover them.
This may help and it doesn't cost much. I no longer have employees, I have an extended family.
Teetor in WA piece is big. On big condo projects and some tract and hacks do it too. The prices are either whole houses or broken down. One crew does just floors, stairs, wall, and roof. I used to do joist and stairs. And the mexican crews do walls and roof. Then there is the pick up crew mostly hourly. This is true cali pro style in action.

pjf52 -what is your total sq ft price I could help more with a numbers.

·
Registered
8,606 Posts