Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my name is brian ive been doing carpentry for 10 yrs im 30 years old i live in ny,i wanna start my own business,i was gonna use service magic but did a customer reveiw search through google and ended up with nothing but bad reveiws. if anyone could help me out with maybe a web site like service magic that has descent results.any avenue of getting leads would be greatly appreciated as my budget is small due to economy and just starting up thanks

·
Super Moderator
11,936 Posts
Welcome to CT. Just a heads up, you will get a lot of valuable information here if you follow the protocol of the site, namely fill out your profile in a little more depth including area.

There is all kinds of info already posted on lead generators here. Do a search for it.

I think you will like this site alot as there are alot of guys here who had to start somewhere too.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
3,951 Posts
Your "avenue of getting leads" is just a small part of what you need to set yourself up. I would start by reading some books. Try "Plan for Profitability" by Lee Hargrave, "Running a Successful Construction Company" by David Gerstel, and "The E Myth Contractor" by Michael E. Gerber.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thank you for the input i will fill out my profile more detailed just signed up to this site. i will def read these books if u had to read only one what one would it be?

·
Registered
41 Posts
Congradulations on going out on your own. You will soon realize
actual production work you do ends up being about 50% of all the work you do. And to quote Thomas Jefferson, "The harder I work, the luckier I get."

Anyway, for a cheap and simple website with ample features for any small service business, I use www.homestead.com. They have no lead generation service like SM. But SM sucks.

·
Registered
416 Posts