Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to this forum so be gentle with me fellas.
got a question to ask that since im new to being the boss and not an employee anymore everyday is a new learning expereance.so here goes
i have been working on a job with a general contractor paying me as a sub.job went well .the job is over as far as everyone is concerned . the other day the owner called me directly and wanted me to come and install some lighting for him ,just do it when you can if you are not busy he said.so i went over there and started to work.well one thing let to another and the general contractor found out i was working there he didnt flip out too bad just kept saying things like cutting me out eh? he even said this to the owner who owns a small business of his own. upon talking with the owner he said to me dont worry if it wasnt me it would be another electrician and he wouldnt see any money anyways.my question is is this good businees the job was done and this is not part of anything discussed during the job.would it be wise to give him referal cut and if so what would be a good percentage?

·
Custom Builder
4,406 Posts
You should have thrown it past the general first, it's just good biz, he has to pay to drag in customers and has the right to make the call. Undercutting is a very bad thing to do to a GC. I NEVER undercut if I'm a sub. If you allow him the option to pick it up and he declines, it's not undercutting.

A referal cut, I'd say give 10 or 15%, Thats less than what he might have made but if he's not bothered too bad, what the hell.

I would vier from doing that again,

Bob

·
Registered
27 Posts