Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, i am new to this forum, but i am glad that i did. I am 24 years old and just recently got licensed as a c-33 painting contractor in Northern california. I need help knowing how much to charge for my hourly rate. I also wanted to know how much does workman's comp cost. I am a bit confused also because it seems like you need more than just your contractor's license to work. there are insurances and buisness licenses that you need. However i first need to get some work before i can purchase all these extra insuranses and buisness licenses. How many of you actually got all your insurances and buisness licenses before actually getting steady work?

Right now, i have my contractors license and $10,000 required bond, is this okay for now while i am just getting started?

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
You're telling us that you didn't know what you were in for?
Congrats on getting the license. From your post, you didn't look far enough ahead. You will need insurance, liceneses before you get started. Unless you are working solo, you need to look into workers comp too.
Getting started in today's world is much like starting GM or Ford, tons of paperwork and expenses.
Wish you luck.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #3