Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Vendor
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am doing market research for a new business venture. I was a carpenter for fifteen years before one fall too many left me a little too busted up to swing a hammer anymore.

So I have just a few questions:
What trade are you in? IE: Roofer, carpenter, plumber, electrician, etc
Where are you located, city and or state?
How much do you spend annually on tools like tape measures and hammer handles, new saw blades, chisels, etc? If an annual estimate is too hard to come up with, a monthly or weekly best guess will do.
Is there any interest in a mobile tool supplier, like Snap-on does for the mechanics industry? Someone that would come around regularly to offer replacement tools on a weekly basis?
Any and all replies are very much appreciated!

·
Drywall Slave
9,441 Posts
I LOVE IT BOB! Waiting on on-line orders can be a pain . Drywall seems to be a specialty trade most places..The supplies here cater to the DIY.. Most of my tools are on-line orders ,But if you were to stop by once every week or two with the tools I WANT! That would be cool!

·
Vendor
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I LOVE IT BOB! Waiting on on-line orders can be a pain . Drywall seems to be a specialty trade most places..The supplies here cater to the DIY.. Most of my tools are on-line orders ,But if you were to stop by once every week or two with the tools I WANT! That would be cool!
I am thinking of just basic hand tools (tape measures, hammer handles, chalk and chalk boxes, etc), bags, cords and ends, and hoses and ends. Also considering new and used power tools, trade-ins, etc.

·
Registered
358 Posts
I'm a remodeler... I'd love that! Blades would be a huge help. I usually burn a utility blade daily and a 7 1/4 every few hours during demo days. Too often we've pushed a blade too far because I didn't buy enough or thought I had more on the trailer.