Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Livin the dream...
6,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am 18 and I will be graduating high school in January. I live about 20 miles from Fort Wayne, Indiana. I currently work for a very small residential construction business. (4 employees) We basically do everything. (concrete, roofing, drywall, whole home building ect.) I love my job but I don't think I am getting paid nearly what I am worth. I make $9.00 per hour and get more work done than the guys I work with who have been doing construction for years and I take a lot of pride in doing a good job. I also get NO BENIFETS including NO WORKMANS COMP. This is a bad situation for me because as soon as I graduate I can't be covered on my parents health insurance anymore.

My question to all you residential construction business owners is how much money am I worth? I have 2 years experience and have a very good knowledge of all aspects of general construction as well as good carpentry skills. I have a good attitude and try to learn as much as I can every day.

What should I do about my situation of being uninsured in just a few months? I am very loyal to the guy I work for but money and more importantly having full health coverage is very important to me.

I can't seem to decide whether or not to start looking for another job before I graduate. Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
4 Posts
spencer, you're 18 w/ 2 years exp, $9 isn't a wage you can have a life on, but, you have to build up work referances, your'e not going to work where you are for more than a year or so, set your sites on one of the bigger international companys. or get an engenering degree, a degree will open a lot of doors. if you plan on staying in your area, you will end up hustling for work, or worse yet, become self-employed.
do you know the dilfferance between self-employment & unemployment? an unemployment check.

·