Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a plumber having a new house built. The brick the mason used mostly cut pieces on the row around the windows but the brick does not match the main brick of the house. Is this acceptable? Can someone explain this? Should I ask him to fix it. Link to pic below. Thanks

http://s28.postimg.org/i2xrs3j5p/Masonry_2.jpg

<http://s28.postimg.org/i2xrs3j5p/Masonry_2.jpg>

·
Registered
5,855 Posts
Hey Bob, I suggest you have this conversation with the mason. He should be able to explain everything better than anyone here could. No one here is familiar with your job. That is, unless your mason is a member of CT.

·
Windwash
595 Posts
Not acceptable for color or vertical spacing IMO. I'm assuming for this window height that you have other windows this same height and this is not an oddball between two others?

·
Registered
4,665 Posts
Looks a little odd Between the windows. But I'm trying to visualize if the bricks went across the face what that may look like...

Not really sure exactly what you don't like. A picture further back would help.

·
Have Trowel, Do travel
909 Posts
Archi's should learn brick sizes before designing a house, there are very few ways to make brick wider other than what you see.
the cut brick on the angle iron is a no-no, unless the mason had no choice.
I would of soldier coarsed it cutting the height of the brick to match the coarse on top of the cut one.

from what I see this is not acceptable and if I was the mason, I would worry about getting paid,
Unless of coarse the HO, GC, or Archi gave the order to do such an abortion.

Reactions: JRWMASONRY

·
Have Trowel, Do travel
909 Posts
I will add, There were sooooooo many ways to make this right.

Quality, Workmanship, these aren't just words, Its a way of life

Reactions: parkers5150

·
Registered
5,855 Posts