Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Interior Remodeling
1,275 Posts
I was 21 when I started my business. Wish I would have went to work for some other more established contractors to learn a little more, so I wouldnt have made so many mistakes and cost so much money (under bidding) but it sure as hell was cheaper than a worthless degree from college and now I make more than most I graduated with that were in college for years and 100k in debt.

·
Registered
121 Posts
I was 23 when I started but I was still working for another company and wasn't full time on my own yet. I started by purchasing two houses that I did some work on and now rent them out.

Now it's been about 2 years that I've been on my own and I've learned quite a bit about the business side of things. Some the hard way but I still learned it and have overcome.

One thing I'd suggest to any new business owner is this book -
http://www.amazon.com/Markup-Profit...=1391037614&sr=8-1&keywords=markup+and+profit

Get it for sure and you will save yourself a lot of trouble.

Also, when you first start out I would try to avoid taking out a loan to pay for your start-up costs. Fortunately I didn't take one out so I'm not worrying myself to death when work slows down if I'm going to be able to make the payment.... I've been sticking to my financial plan and I'm about to be spending about 5k on a new enclosed trailer that will be paid for.

·
Registered
7,076 Posts
No older than 22
No older than 75.

Practically speaking, it depends on whether you plan to do the physical work, what your plans are for the growth of the company, your financial resources, and so on.