Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been working for a home builder for 10 months now. I have had a chance to be apart of all trades, and all aspect of new construction. (except plumbing, electrical, HVAC) From framing, finish work, finial clean, punch outs, running subs, and getting leads to build a new home. I have worked my way through the ranks and now my partner and I run a crew of up to 5 guys. We also do all the kitchen cabinet design, layout and installs (hourly), so far 6 houses with 2 more going in a week. I am also project managing an eviction from a rental property that the tenets destroyed before leaving. We, have our own tools and can fully sustain ourselves on a job site.

I get paid $14.00 an hour. (which I had to fight for ..was getting $10.00) I will use my own money to say buy a box of nails, or some item to finish whatever is needed (lately I have been getting signed checks instead of using my own money) which I do get back when I turn my receipts in on pay day.

On top of all this my partner, me, and most of the time my crew are all active duty Marines. We push over 40, hours a week on a live fire rifle range teaching recruits how to shoot. Then, most weeks we push another 40+ hours a week building. We can run circles around some the bobo drunk high crews that are employed, the only thing that holds us back is experience!!

Anyways long story short should I be be getting paid $14 an hour? I understand my experience and knowledge is lacking, and I am part time (we call our selves 2nd shift because we do not get to work till usually around 2pm.)

Maybe I am just being a whinny girl, however I am thankful for my boss giving me a shot to work and learn.

·
The Ultimate Wire Hider
4,455 Posts
Maybe I am just being a whinny girl, however I am thankful for my boss giving me a shot to work and learn.