Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm a painter for about five years now, doing mostly interior residential painting. Inhaling paint fume, of course, as picking up a brush/roller or getting paint on one's clothes, is part of the profession; but health-wise it could be something harmful in the long run that has been overlooked and should be looked out for. Inhaling any kind of chemical fume for eight hours a day is a bit too much and not good, I think, and eventually it's one's brain/mind that will take the likely unfavorable consequence..

I wonder what do you, the veterans and the professionals, think? Do you wear mask (e.g. 3M gray-colored mask for latex fume) or respirator (o.v for harmful alkyd fume) daily? Or do you wear/use other equipments/products? (if so, I'd very much appreciate any info and thanks in advance) Or do you just simply not care or even not smell the fume? :D

·
Deck Designer/Builder
2,430 Posts
I'd say to ask Bob, but it's probably too late for him - LOL ;)

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
If you ever read some of AA Paint's 'conspiracy' posts all your questions would be answered. Run, - - run from them fumes and don't look back!! :cheesygri

·
Pro Painter
2,314 Posts
If people around here had half a brain, you'd get a decent response to your questions. No point taking any advice from someone that let's Bill O'reilly do all their thinking for them. :rolleyes:

I have been painting over 6 years and use a respirator only when ventilation is bad. Usually if I'm inside painting, we open windows, bring our own fan, then grin and bear it...However, with a lot of solvent based products in a closed in environment it's respirator city, and always when spraying.