Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a finish carpenter by trade and recently started a handyman business.
Any thoughts on how much I should charge for replacing interior doors. The customer has purchased the slabs allready. I will be hanging the doors and replacing the old locksets. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am in South Jersey

·
The Deck Guy
3,126 Posts
For a HC slab with two 3-1/2" 1/4" rad hinges and customer supplied lockset, I charge at least $125 per door. More if it needs radical planing or a lot of back and forth work.

Buy a Bosch hinge template set if you don't already have one. It will pay for itself in two jobs. It's a ***** to use it interconnected if the hinge locations vary from door to door, so I usually end up just using one of the templates and measuring. Still way better than the plastic templates.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Any thoughts on how much I should charge for replacing interior doors. The customer has purchased the slabs allready. I will be hanging the doors and replacing the old locksets. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am in South Jersey
Please let me know about the charges as soon as possible. Any help would be great.
Thank you

·
Registered
4,364 Posts
What is your time worth per hr and how many hrs will it take you...but this sounds like a homeowner looking for a ballpark so when the contractor they hired on craigslist comes over and gives them a price they think they get a deal bc that hack only charges $75 a door when he just read $125 on here.

·
Steve
844 Posts
"And now a message from our moderators. Please stay tuned for this important message":mad:

·
copycat
60 Posts