Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a local paving/grading contractor and looking to get some information on installing water line. You ride up the road and see those guys trenching for water line down the side of the road. What is a good way I can learn about this without actually having to get out and do it as a laborer. I don't have the time to actually go work on a crew to learn it and run my company too. People are needed to do jobs alot like Dayexco, I believe it was, posted. We have the equipment to do it and it would help keep the guys busy when paving slows down. Any information greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
8,233 Posts
i know all pipe work is very competitive now....but this particular job with the quantity of pipe involved. "5 miles'....is VERY production driven in order to make any money. you'd quickly regret jumping into a project like this with a green crew. i'm very fortunate that our pipe lead is a REAL hustler. he just does things, no holding his hand, things just get done. a project like this i think would be a tough one to cut your teeth on with the margins we're dealing with.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for responding, I can appreciate your reply. Im not trying to say that I am just going to run out and grab a few miles to begin with and expect to get rich at it. I would just like to find out where I can learn a bit about it and maybe progress my way into it. I am just looking for something else to "put under my belt" so to speak incase a good opportunity ever arises. I am basically paying the guys now to do nothing just so they can feed their families until I get the go ahead on a few jobs. I figured meanwhile I could try and brush up on something new.

·
Contractor
7,654 Posts
Kind of a tough question, Term.

I have worked around these "Pipe Layers" for years.