Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone.

I am a painter and am looking at a job that will require installing roof jacks for me to access dormers, etc.

Is there anyone who can tell me the best way to install them and remove them, or is there a site with detailed instructions you can point me too?

Ideally, I'd like to have a roofer come in and do the install for me, however I haven't proposed this to the homeowner yet.

Mike

·
Registered
269 Posts
Make sure they are on the joists and not just into the sheeting. You can fastenen them with with nails or heavy deck screws, but 16p nails is what I use. When I'm done I just drive the nails down flush & tar over them with roofing cement. Make sure you tar over the fastener points when they are removed, don't want to be creating leaks up there.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply housedodcs...leaks are my main worry! Sounds like a straight forward solution you have.
I know joists are every 16"...doesa stud finder work on a roof or do you just tap with a hammer to find them?

Mike

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
bilug, a good studfinder adjusted to deep mode should locate them.
Not all rafters are on 16's, I find 24's more common. Locate 2 in the field and you can assume that the rest are the same.

·
Registered
269 Posts
bilug said:
Thanks for the reply housedodcs...leaks are my main worry! Sounds like a straight forward solution you have.
I know joists are every 16"...doesa stud finder work on a roof or do you just tap with a hammer to find them?

Mike

Glad to help bilug and Welcome aboard!!