Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently work for a large "family" business. In my current position as a business efficiency administrator, I have information about every facet of the business practices, as well as confidential information regarding pay scales and cost of doing business information. I'm currently working as a senior HR managers position as well as an operations manager position for the price of an office administrator. I've been offered an executive position at a new firm, but I am worried that because I have insider information and the new firm would be in direct competition with my current employer that it may be unethical to take that job. The pay and lifestyle would be freeing to me though.. so I guess my question is, is it ethical to build a better mouse trap simply because I understand the pitfalls of their mousetrap firsthand?

·
Registered
1,481 Posts
Last I checked, this is still America. You can do anything to better yourself.

You seem to be ethical enough that you don't want to pass confidential info between two competing parties, which is noble.

If you're doing more now than your getting paid for, and you can better yourself, because that's all that really matters, then jump ship and do what you need to do.

·
Registered
11,359 Posts
No, it's not unethical to move over and up in the same competing industry. That's one of the main ways that it's done.....how else??....especially to move up and get recognition and compensated at a level you're worth.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That's exactly what it feels like. Everyone else in charge is immediate family, and I feel like I get saddled with unbalanced responsibility.

·
Banned
2,247 Posts