Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
438 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just went thru a day waiting for an inspection, called the guy up for a rough and he said he would be at the site between 9:00 and 4:00.

Fun thing about it is the guy works a full time job elsewhere, so he shows up at 4:30. I had to sit around all day for him, when I tried to call to find out if he was on his way, of course the town hall was closed, after 4:00.

I was a little miffed, well you know how the story goes from there, he had to find something.

Now i have to wait another day for this clown to show up again.

Bernie

·
Registered
118 Posts
Inspections !

I am a Building inspector, I require 48 hrs notice for all inspections.
Let me tell you my side of the story. I am the only inspector in a town of 3700 people 270 building permits a year.
I have a 5% rule, 5% of the contractors take up 95 % of my time, People stop me on Sat. Sun wanting to schdule an insp. on Monday they call my home, boy does my wife gets mad.

I understand your problem, that bld. insp. SHOULD set up a better schedule than "some time today" try talking to him you must have more inspections to be conducted.
good luck

al

ps outstanding room

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
I know your pain. I was once the service manager for Dixie Boat Works in Newton, NC pop. 3,500. I had the same problem, folks thought nothing about calling at any hour. AT HOME! It was like a 24-7 job.

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
I've never met a bldg inspector that works for a municipality that will give you more than a window of 2 hours... except for major construction projects. I guess bldg inspectors have more respect for the huge contractor instead of us small guys.

G

·
Inspections