Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to build my own super insulated home next year and leaning toward SIPS. I'm an electrician by trade so my question is how do I know which is better for my area? I hear guys discuss this back and forth and not sure which is the better solution.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
We have a few here that advertise it and doing the loop I can do myself with equipment we already have. So with the loop out of the way and one of my customers is a water furnace rep I can get equipment at a good price. I'm merely looking at it from an energy standpoint as to which one.

·
Registered
3,920 Posts
If you are talking strictly energy geo is the way to go. It sounds as this is the way you plan to go. I would take into consideration that should you have equipment failures, it would be better that it would be with an air to air furnace and h.p..

You are an electrician with good trouble shooting skills? Probably can deal with whatever happens. I am talking on a general basis, and it's my opinion only.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
As a company our primary focus is on building management system installations so the basic concept of Geo is not foreign to me. We have done quite a few schools in GEO. I just hear HVAC guys chatter about it not working as well in our area. One thing that might be an issue for me is growing up with gas heat and it being warmer than GEO discharge temp.

Do you feel there is a huge difference in energy usage between the 2? I will have natural gas anyways onsite as I will use it for our polebarn 60x100 along with a backup generator set. We are a GE Generator Rep as well.

·
Registered
3,920 Posts