Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok i need some info.

I have been working for a guy that was using a third partys insurance. He just let me know that that is done.

He went out and got liability insurance today. He told me it cost $150 extra per person to add people to it and if i pay $75 of it per year he will give me the paperwork so if we are slow i can find side work on my own and be covered.

He also said i am a independent contractor and that there is no workmans comp incase i get hurt

Does this all make sense to yall? I am new to all this contractor stuff. As a independent contractor do i need to get my own workmans comp and how much does it cost? He said i needed to fill out a w9.

Also do i need a business license or anything. Im just a little confused with all of this

·
Super Moderator
10,605 Posts
What does your paycheck look like? I bet there are no taxes of any kind withheld. Did that not seem weird to you?

Trust your instincts here.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No taxes. Handwritten check from business account. I need the job evenn if im considered a independent contractor. I know i am responsible for my own taxes. Im just wondering if i need to get a health insurance policy to cover incase something bad happens. Ive only been doing carpentry work since january. He pays me $18 an hour. No overtime or anything. I have to have my own tools. Im basically just starting out. Ive always work as an employee and never doing commercial work

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The companies we do work for require liability ins. Thats why he used someone elses company name and paid that person 7% of everything made to do so. The guy im working for is my cousins husband and he is starting his own company. Hes worked for other people for years and decided to go our on his own

·
Super Moderator
10,605 Posts