Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Painting Contractor
1,176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the minimum amount of HP and PSI I should look for in a new power washer? I am a painting contractor so it would be mainly used for cleaning off old paint from the exteriors of houses (brick, cedar, etc.) and decks and so on.

·
Registered
9 Posts
While I am by far a expert on pressure washing. i do have a neighbor that has been in the feild for years. He has always told me that a hight PSI is good but the higher the GPM is the better it cleans.

He only does it part time now for 1 painter (he has a cushy big money job now lol).

I think 6 GPM plus is where you want to be to work more effeciently(spelling?). I know alot of wahsers at lowes and the "depot" are around 4 gpm. They will work they will just take you a little bit longer to get it done...

Like I said I am no expert in this area.. just passing along what I have been told.

·
Painting Contractor
1,176 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
J.W. Reid said:
I think 6 GPM plus is where you want to be to work more effeciently(spelling?). I know alot of wahsers at lowes and the "depot" are around 4 gpm. They will work they will just take you a little bit longer to get it done...

The highest that HD carries is 3700 PSI, 13 HP and pushes 4 GPM. They want $1000 for it...

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
Humble Abode said:
The highest that HD carries is 3700 PSI, 13 HP and pushes 4 GPM. They want $1000 for it...
This thread pressure washing thread has some really good information about machines and techniques.

I have one of these. The only downside is that I can't lift it into my truck alone.

·
Registered
960 Posts
I use a 6.5 gallon per minute gas Hydro-tech with a diesel burner. I wish I would have bought an 8 or 10 gpm diesel engine and burner due to the much faster results and reliability.