Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the Biz and im planning on hiring paint sub-contractors. I am
looking to see if anybody has calculations for average/industry standard for time(minutes) per Sq ft for painting walls, trim, ceilings, and light sanding. I know there's no exact number but even a ballpark number will help.

Also, I know some painters like to charge by Sq Ft of floor space, but I found that method doesn't take into consideration the numbers of walls in that space, which can change drastically.
Example: A one room area 20x20 with 8' walls will have 400 sq ft of floor and 640 sq ft of walls, while a 4 room area with 10x10 flooring per room will still = 400 sq ft total but will have a combined total of 1280 sq ft of walls. So I don't really see how charging per sq ft of floor can be a good idea.

any advice would be appreciated. thanks

·
Particulate Filter
4,430 Posts
Answer to first question. It depends. Is it on a ladder, on the ground, outside, on a lift, owner possessions, wide open square walls or all cut up and no particular surface is more than 10 or twelve square feet, what kind of coating, what kind of required quality (will it be inspected for stipple direction, size, sheen regularity, mil thickness?), Is it highly porous like a pebble stucco or is it untextured sheet rock, ambient conditions like temperature and humidity? Etc Etc....

Question #2 Bidding by floor square footage is a gc trick for painters who are bad at math and has been covered on the site extensively.

·
Registered
3,444 Posts
Only a moron would estimate on square footage alone, too many factors involved. I'd be leery of anyone painting by the sq. ft., they may be nothing more than apartment painters.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·